Help select the 2013 Jesse Owens Athletes of the Year

Indianapolis — Track and field fans have the opportunity to help select USA Track & Field’s 2013 Jesse Owens Awards winners through online voting.

Honoring the country’s top male and female track and field athletes, the Jesse Owens winners are selected by a vote of the media in combination with online fan balloting, with media votes weighing 90 percent of the vote and fan voting 10 percent.

Established in 1981, The Jesse Owens Award is USA Track & Field's highest accolade, presented annually to the outstanding U.S. male and female track & field performers.

This year’s awards will be presented December 7 at the Jesse Owens Awards and Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, held in conjunction with USA Track & Field’s 2013 Annual Meeting in Indianapolis.

Seven women and seven men are nominated, below. Online voting concludes at 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time on Friday, Oct. 18.